James Mauldin didn’t want to go to sleep.

For 5 days now, he had been on a strict regimen of coffee and diet pills. Hallucinations had begun to bombard him, but he didn’t mind. A shadow here, a whisper there – he knew they weren’t real, so it didn’t matter to him at all.

But the dreams…or whatever they truly were…were very real to James. That’s why he hadn’t slept in 5 days, why his wife had left him, and why he had lost his job.

It had always been the same way. A palpable force of some kind seemed to permeate every molecule in the air right as he began to fall asleep. He would fight it – trying to move, trying to scream – but it never worked. The darkness enveloped him every single time.

He would be transported to a farm house with a white picket fence surrounding it. It was always a starless night, with nothing but a faint and foreboding glow of scarlet emanating from some unknown source and illuminating everything to where it looked like blood.

Invariably, James would grab onto the fence with both hands. Whenever he did this, he would feel pain from every nerve in his hands and pull them to his face. Once his palms turned upward, sunlight would flood the area and replace the red glow. His hands would be bleeding in a thousand places and the white fence would now be rusted barbed wire.

Slowly, a dark cloud would move towards him along the ground. He knew from the start of these recurring dreams that the cloud was there to consume things. Love, his family, his confidence, his sanity. And he knew that someday, during one of these dreams, the inevitable would come – his life would be consumed as well.

Unbeknownst to James, his five sleepless nights had actually been years. His mind could no longer accurately perceive time, or anything else for that matter.

“Don’t let me sleep! Don’t let me sleep!”
The guards sedated him, tightened his straitjacket, and turned off the lights.

 

this was inspired by a childhood dream of mine

Comments
  1. wordzfrommeblog says:

    Great story. And from a childhood dream you received that inspiration. Amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Frightening tale and what a terrible dream for a child! Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. jemini123 says:

    Sleep is eerie, Shane—-and good!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Alex says:

    This is amazing! Your writings are so so so good! Have you been able to publish any? Because you REALLY should!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so very much for all your likes and comments. You’ve honestly made my day 😉 no I haven’t tried yet. I’ve got two publishers narrowed down for my poems, and as soon as they accept, I’ll look good to an agent. I want an agent because I want my books to be published through a major house …. wishful thinking lol but my goal right now is to get my poems published.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Just Me says:

    This evolved from a childhood dream. Wow. Do your parents know how gifted you are?

    In other news, I love your category list. 🙂 It reminds me of something, but it’s too inappropriate for me to say here, haha! Trust me, it’s not a bad thing.

    You are a terrific writer…I was caught up, on James’ side the entire time. I wanted him to sleep…to not sleep, I couldn’t decide.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

